With yesterday being Father’s Day, I was reminded of just how good I’ve had it. Not only am I fortunate to have grown up with an earthly father who was always in my life, but I also had a relationship with my heavenly Father from a young age. That doesn’t mean I didn’t have times where I wavered and forgot who I belonged to, but I always had someone protecting me and looking out for me.

For so much of my life, I was always in a hurry to grow up because I thought I knew what I wanted in life. But then, as soon as I reached an age where I had to make adult decisions about my future, I felt lost. It was around that time that I encountered God in a way that transformed my life and paved the way for me to be where I am now.

While neither of my fathers have changed in their love and devotion to me, I’ve seen my relationship with them mature. I’ve learned to appreciate the moments of right now because I know it’s a moment I won’t get back. The incredible thing about God is that He always present and ready to listen even though He’s a God who transcends time. He enjoys every second that we take the time to be with Him.

Part of God’s goodness is that even though He’s excited about who we’ll become and all the good He has for us in the future, He’s also the Father who gives us good things right now. To Him, the journey is important, and He takes delight in watching us grow and learn. While He is the Everlasting Father, He’s also the Ever-Present One.

