We live in a world where cars are now starting to drive themselves. In fact, the idea of being able to put something on autopilot seems convenient to us. But it only lasted so long before we saw how dangerous it can also be when it backfires. We too have the tendency to live our lives on autopilot instead of taking control.

For instance, we’re constantly learning more about personalities and the way some people think and process the world. It can help us be more aware of our patterns and responses. I’ve also seen people use their personality types as an excuse for why they can’t or won’t do something rather than just taking responsibility. They let their personality drive them on autopilot.

Christians are also guilty of doing this. Many tend to have a “que sera sera” attitude without realizing that their prayers and words have great impact on their futures. Yes, there are things that happen that are out of our control, but too many people let life dictate them instead of dictating their lives.

There are certain things in my life that are presets: I will always go to church whenever possible, I will always participate in worship, I will always serve Jesus for the rest of my life. Having presets doesn’t mean I’m on autopilot, but they become the basis through which I make decisions when it comes to my life. I actively make the choice to follow what I believe.

