Sometimes the phrase “be patient” can leave a sour taste in my mouth. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again that patience is not my strong suit. It’s not that I’m not willing to work hard for wait for something, but more that I don’t like the uncertainty. Recently though, I’ve learned why patience is important.

It’s always helpful to look to God as our example and standard in life. God in His nature and character is outside of the limits of time, and yet He’s patient. In fact, even 1 Corinthians 13 makes a point to tell us that love is patient. The reality of it is, patience is actually willingly submitting yourself to another’s timeline.

God could do anything He wants at any time, but He chooses to wait for us to come to Him and for us to be ready. That’s why love requires patience, because letting go of our own timeline makes us be selfless. Patience is about so much more than just waiting.

So now, I’m again learning what it means to be patient. I’m learning what it means to say, “I love you enough to submit myself to your timeline. Even though you’re not ready yet, I can wait until you are.” It’s that aspect of love that keeps a body moving together as one instead of a few running ahead of the others.

