Why is it that we live in a world where commitment issues are prevalent? How did we get to the point where half of marriages end in divorce and people change their relationships faster than they change their phones? Why are there breeds of penguins that have more loyalty than those of us who can choose for ourselves to stick with something?

A few nights ago, I realized something ironic about my personality type: we don’t like long-term planning, but we want long-term relationships. We want to know that the people closest to us aren’t going to betray us for someone or something else. Perhaps we even look to that commitment to be our long-term plan.

It can be hard sometimes when you want long-term commitment in a world where people leave if they see something “better.” We’re always looking for a way out, looking for a better opportunity. We get bored or afraid or angry, and we betray the people we promised we’d always be there for. And this is our normal.

But I don’t want to be like that. There was a moment when I looked to God and said, “You’re it for me. I’m living for You for the rest of my life, and I’m never changing my mind.” Everyday I work hard to be a person of my word, someone who can be depended on by both God and other people. I live in a culture where all I have to do to stand out is be committed.

