Let’s just be real here. Most of us don’t like being told that we were wrong about something. Inside all of us is this desire to be right, to think that our perspective of the world is correct. Sometimes, it’s not even that we were completely wrong about something, but rather that we didn’t know everything that we thought we did.

The older we get, the more we realize that we’ll always be constantly adjusting our minds as we discover what’s always been true. I’ve recently been learning about health and wellness all over again, and realizing that I have to make changes in how I think if I want to see changes in how I live and in my physical body long term. I didn’t know everything, but I’m glad I don’t.

The right frame of mind isn’t the mind that knows everything, but rather is the mind that is open to being corrected and adjusted when confronted with the truth. For instance, Americans are known for being unhealthy, and while some people don’t know how bad their food is for them, some people do. Some people knowingly eat poorly. That’s their choice, but I won’t let that be me.

Proverbs 12:1 in the Passion Translation says, “To learn the truth you must long to be teachable, or you can despise correction and remain ignorant.” Our minds aren’t supposed to remain stagnant, and we should always be changing and growing as new truths come alive to us.

