Let’s be real for a second…most of us don’t really like surprises. We like the idea of surprises when we know it’s a good surprise like a surprise party. But the idea of the great unknown is frustrating to most of us. We like to know what’s coming and what to expect. In some shape or form, most of like having a plan for the future, even if the plan is “to be spontaneous.”

A few months ago when I finished school, the future looked like a big question mark. So far up to that point in my life, I knew what was coming next when I was stepping into it. By the time I was graduating high school, I knew where I was going to college and where I was moving. So much of my life was planned out beforehand.

I knew I would be walking into a new season, but I didn’t foresee it would have this many unknowns. But there’s really no way to prepare for the unknown in advance. All you can really do is walk into it with full expectation that you won’t sink. It’s the season that will really test your faith on a daily basis.

But I’m learning one thing that will be important even in the seasons where things are more stable and concrete: I don’t have to know. I don’t need to know the details of what’s coming. All I have to do is trust in the One who knows and holds the future. As long as I’m in step with God, then He’ll tell me what I need to know.

