This past week didn’t turn out at all like I thought it would. Work things happened that were out of my control, I had one of the busiest weekends in the past few months, AND there were five extra people staying at my house during said weekend for a women’s conference. Because I also didn’t get much sleep, sometimes it felt like I was holding on by a straw.

Life rarely ever works out exactly like we expect it will. We make plans and schedules, but sometimes things happen that are out of our control. In the end, often the only thing we can control is our response and attitude to the madness. And that response could mean everything.

So what did I do? I used my breaks between sessions to work and gain more hours when I could. Instead of taking a nap, I tried to be productive. I woke up earlier than I would have liked to make coffee for 500 women. As tired as I was, I made it through the day.

In the end though, I survived. When we’re in the midst of stress, it can feel overwhelming, but it only lasts for a moment. Without those moments though, we wouldn’t realize how much we need to turn to God to be our peace and stability in the midst of the chaos. When we feel like it’s the last straw, there’s often another package just waiting to be opened.

P.S. I definitely took a nap as soon as the conference was over.

