So, yesterday was Christmas, and today is the official “observed” Christmas Day. Don’t get me wrong, I do enjoy the holidays, but Christmas hasn’t felt very festive for me the past few years. What usually happens around this time of year is that people eat too much, and they tend to “check out” mentally and spiritually.

Ever since I moved to Kansas City a few years ago, Christmas has felt different. My parents don’t even put up a Christmas tree anymore, so I’ve been borrowing theirs for where I live. Even when I spent the evening of Black Friday decorating, I still didn’t feel it.

So what do I do? I go to Christmas parties, wear the ugly sweaters and Santa hats. I’ll even go caroling with people. I’ll buy gifts for people and watch Elf. Celebrating who God is shouldn’t be confined to a time of year.

That’s what’s happened to me. I haven’t let the month or the decorations determine my worship. God with us is something that occurs in my everyday life, not just on December 25. Spend time with family and friends, but don’t be confined to having peace and joy to this time of year.

