A few years ago (long enough ago that I was in high school), the acronym YOLO was coined and spread like wildfire through my age group. Basically, it became an excuse for people to do foolish and idiotic things because “you only live once.” I’m sure there were some good things to come of it like people pursuing their dreams, but it’s a different mindset when you think of it as, “you’re only young once.”

“Young people, it’s wonderful to be young! Enjoy every minute of it. Do everything you want to do; take it all in. But remember that you must give an account to God for everything you do.”
‭‭Ecclesiastes‬ ‭11:9‬ ‭NLT‬‬

When I read that verse this past week, it felt like a huge weight had been lifted. I have all these projects and things I want to pursue while I’m in my twenties, but there’s this cultural expectation, though not as strong where I am, that you should get married and start a family a few years after. It’s not that I don’t want those things, but I don’t want them now. Right now I want do accomplish other things while I have the time and energy. I want to travel and see other parts of the world.

I used to think I’d be married by this age, but I’m thankful that I’m not. If someone comes along who is an asset and complementary to my dreams and destiny rather than a distraction, then maybe I’ll get married. Until then, I’d rather be single and completely focused on the things God is going to do through me and the dreams I’ve been created to pursue.

