My roommate is one of the strangest, weirdest, most joyful people you will ever meet. She’s the person that laughs, even at the most inappropriate moments. It’s not that she doesn’t take things seriously, but that she can be one of the best people to break the ice. I’ve lived with her for almost two years, and I can honestly say that she’s not afraid to say what needs (or sometimes doesn’t need) to be said.

One of the most amazing things about it though is that I’ve watched her go through tragedy. A little over a year ago, she lost her dad in a way that a child should never lose a parent. That circumstance is a constant reminder of how important and vital it is for us to fight against the darkness that tries to suffocate the life out of people. Even in the midst of that, she didn’t change her mind about who she wanted to be.

Why bring that up? Because she went through something that takes most people out of the race, but she’s still running after God. She still laughs more than most people I know, and she’s not afraid to be herself. That is one of the many reasons why I’ve started a short YouTube series about her: The Erikiki Minute.

Basically, I use my phone to record a short 60-90 video of her doing weird and funny things that she does on a normal basis. It’s one of the easiest ways I can think of to really show people what it means to be joyful. She even laughs at herself in the videos. So here’s the link to my new mini series, The Erikiki Minute.

