Disclaimer: I’ve thought a lot about this. I’ve had several conversations with God about this over the four years I’ve been in revival. My perspective has changed about this. There’s a common mindset in the world and in the church that we shouldn’t care what other people think. That statement is true, but only in the right context.

When it comes to pursuing God, we shouldn’t care about the opinions of those who want us to slow down. Unfortunately, churches are filled with people who don’t want you to be passionate about the presence and power of God. In those cases, only God’s opinion should matter. There are instances though that what other people think should matter.

I go to an amazing church filled with a lot of safe people. By safe, I mean people who have proven that the Kingdom of God is their priority and that they only want what’s good for my life. If someone who is safe is questioning something in my life that doesn’t line up with who I say I am, I should care. Even if what they thought is incorrect information, it likely came from something they saw and/or something they heard. Whether I intended to or not, I probably gave the appearance of something that doesn’t line up with what I say.

Appearances can give both good or bad impressions. Appearances often become someone else’s perception and reality. Leaders have to be extremely aware of how things could appear, because one incorrect assumption can cause someone to question your character and lose trust in you. If someone safe is innocently questioning, someone who isn’t as grounded could stumble. Appearance can be both nothing or everything.

This concept was important enough that Paul constantly told the New Testament churches to be blameless. It was a requirement that had to be evident to others before even being considered for leadership. Just the appearance of evil or being hypocritical was enough to disqualify someone from being in leadership. Let’s take our standard to a level that we are known as safe people and leaders because everything lines up with who we say we are.

