Admit it; we’ve all done it. You took the personality test, and you enjoyed it. There’s something kind of cool about being able to take a test, and it tells you who you are and how you tend to respond to things. I’ve taken many types of test, including the DISC test and the 16 Personalities test. I’m an ISFP and on Conscientious. Oh, and my top 5 strengths according to the Gallup Strengthsfinder test are Belief, Responsibility, Adaptability, Relator, and Significance.

Thousands of studies have been done that help us understand how we’re wired. I’ve read the results of my friends and have been able to understand how they think and view the world. It helps us to communicate better and encourages team building. We can now better recognize each other’s strengths and weaknesses. We can even somewhat predict how someone may respond or react to certain situations.

Personality tests are a great tool to help us understand ourselves and each other, but they can also cause us to limit ourselves if we’re not careful. Sometimes we can let what our personality is determine who we are rather than use it to help us recognize when we need someone else’s strengths to back us up. For instance, just because I’m not as strategic doesn’t mean I can’t train myself to be better at it. It also gives me the opportunity to partner with someone who is good at it.

Your results may describe, but they don’t define you. Even in ministry, sometimes the most powerful moments you’ll experience is when you do something that isn’t your strength, but is His strength. God created us with different personalities, but He didn’t create us to be limited or confined by them.

