Starting out this year, one of my goals was to run a 5k. Personally, I’m do well when it comes to short distance sprinting, but long-distance is a struggle for me. To help build up my endurance, I downloaded an app that comes up with a running plan. One of the things I quickly noticed was to interval between running and walking. A beginner runner might not see the significance of that.

When it comes to endurance, we often think it’s best to go as fast and as hard as we can until we get tired and walk the rest. It’s better to build endurance by planning to run 3 minutes followed by 2 minutes of rest. Your energy level burns out at a much slower pace, making you a more effective runner.

The same concept applies in life. I’ve been in seasons of life when I was so busy, I didn’t have time to rest or get enough sleep. I wore myself out to the point that my body would force me to sleep and I was less productive because I was so tired. Ten weeks straight of doing that made me cherish the three week breaks between quarters. Now that I’m entering a new season, I’ve learned the way of the runner.

My school workload is lighter as I’m finishing out, which gives me more time to rest (and an extra day to get more sleep). I’m actually more productive at getting homework because I’m taking time to rest. Resting is more than just sleep, but it’s even just a time to slow down and reflect on God. It’s taking breaks in the midst of the busyness. It’s actually natural to rest one in seven days.

For some of you, this means taking time out with your family. For others, it might just mean getting enough sleep, even if you have to sacrifice hanging out with your friends every once in a while. Working is important, but more effective when incorporated with intervals of rest.

