I’m a millennial, and I love technology. I will literally sit in my recliner with four different screens on at the same time. I can’t tell you how many times I was interrupted while typing this sentence while responding to messages. It’s a beautiful thing to be instantly connected to the world. 

Between texting, social media, and FaceTime, we have found ways to stay in contact with people that wasn’t possible in past generations. Unfortunately, we’ve also become a very distracted generation. We’re so connected to our technology that it’s unnatural for us to place our attention on one thing for a long period of time. 
I’m the millennial who doesn’t understand why Snapchat and constant selfies are popular. I’m the millennial who wishes her friends would put their phones down while we’re enjoying a meal together. I’m the millennial who sometimes sits in her school of ministry classes frustrated at how distracting it is when people are messaging each other on heir laptops. And yet all these things are considered normal.

Technology is a wonderful thing, but it’s not a substitute for real human connection. There’s a beauty in tangibly spending time with one another, and we miss those moments when we’re engrossed in our phones. You’d be amazed at how much easier it is to discern and realize things about people and patterns when you pay attention. Live in the moment right now in the place and with the people who are physically there, and you’ll realize how much richer your relationships are.

I’m not perfect at this, but I’m trying to get better. Technology should be an enhancement to life’s moments, not a replacement for it. 

