If I’ve gotten anything out of living in the Midwest for 18 years, it’s being able to experience all four seasons. Having all four seasons is nice, except that no two winters and no two summers are alike. It’s both predictable and unpredictable at the same time.

Throughout high school, my favorite season was always summer, but not just because it meant not being in school. Summer was the season that we had church camp, and that was almost a guarantee that I would experience God. They were always the hardest season, and yet the season I would experience God the most. Now that I’m in a place where God comes down all the time, I’ve learned to love all the seasons. I’ve slowly shifted my favorite to autumn.
God created the earth on purpose with seasons, cycles, and rhythms. It’s embracing the seasons and change that allow us to grow and produce in our lives. Right now I’m going into a new season that’s both predictable and unpredictable. I knew it was coming, but the only way to really prepare for it was to trust God to take me through it.

We can’t stop the natural seasons from changing, and we can’t stop the spiritual seasons either. Each and every one are necessary for growth. Winter is a time for rest and finding clarity while autumn is a time where harvest comes before things have to die in order to start again in the spring. They each have advantages and disadvantages, and embracing change instead of fighting it is the only way to really thrive in the midst of varying rhythms.

